WIAW #4…Or WITW?

Good morning and Happy Halloween to you all! I completely forgot it was Halloween until I walked into the gym this morning and saw the ROTC members doing their drills on the basketball courts decked out in their uniforms! Funny sight to see and definitely something to keep my mind occupied while I did another strength workout from Tina’s Bootcamp!

Luckily, I’ve been slowly but surely getting over the cold I mentioned I had on Monday; I skipped working out both Monday and Tuesday because I was so tired. I prefer to workout in the mornings and when it boiled down to it, I decided to listen to my body and give in the R&R it was telling me it needed! Today, though, I felt like I was able to get up at my usual 6 AM hour to go to the gym–it felt good to be back!

Anyways, since today is Wednesday after all, that means we have another great WIAW, courtesy of Jenn! And today also marks the last day of her October theme for WIAW–I can’t wait to see what November’s will be!

Let’s get a move on here, though…I have a few eats from last week and then some from this past Monday and Tuesday–although I feel like I should’ve entitled this post WITW (What I Took Wednesday) instead because I’m pretty sure I’ve been taking medicine more often than creating and eating delicious meals ;)
Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

Last week eats:

I didn’t have oats for breakfast?!? Yes, that happened. This was an amazing omelette of 3 egg whites + 1 egg, sautéed broccoli, mushrooms, and spinach. Whole wheat English muffin with Muenster cheese on the side.

One of the more delicious meals from last week–Butternut Squash Mac N’ Cheese! I followed this recipe from Jessica’s blog and it turned out fantastic. Unfortunately, butternut squash is the only veggie (or is it a fruit…? Anyone know?!) involved in this particular meal. Hey, better than eating just a box of Kraft, though ;)

 

My “spooky [late night] snack” for last week: Halloween funfetti cupcakes! My roommate Megan and I whipped up a batch on Sunday night–I can’t remember the last time I’ve had one of these! But apparently they don’t aid in fending off any oncoming colds you might be getting… ;)

A few less exciting meals from this week:

 

Lunch from Monday, when I felt the worst: the classic bowl of chicken noodle soup…with a side of apple slices. I added some chopped broccoli to the soup to put just a littttttle more veggie action in my day.

And here we have the What I Took Wednesday portion of this post! Basically my life savers this week…I’m pretty sure if you split me open right now I’d bleed out soup, tea, and cold medicine. (There’s my Halloween scariness for the day)

As much as I love what medicine can do for me, I’ve also been trying to be cognizant of eating veggies during lunch and dinner…I ate these roasted carrots and red pepper slices alongside yet another bowl of soup yesterday.

Lastly, and perhaps the most exciting for this week…

My stomach was actually feeling that it could take on a “real meal” (read: not something in liquid form) last night, so Megan and I made a batch of salmon patties. They were amazing! I had two since they were on the smaller side, plus sides of roasted squash/zucchini and baked fries. Such a good dinner!

I’m hoping with my army of tea and honey, cough drops, and cold medicine, I’ll be able to defeat this cold by the end of the week. Fingers crossed!

Have an awesome Halloween, stay safe and healthy! ;)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “WIAW #4…Or WITW?

  1. Ugh isn’t it the worst being a foodie and being sick?! I hate it when my stomach can’t handle food, it makes me so sad! But I think you did a fine jod of actually eating meals while sick, especially your omelette with that cheesy english muffin! It looks divine :)

Leave a Reply

